General Information

Kultur Ruhr GmbH was created in its current form inspired by the Internationale Bauausstellung Emscher Park (1989–99), and is dedicated to producing and hosting contemporary and interdisciplinary art events across the entire Ruhr metropolitan area.

Kultur Ruhr GmbH currently consists of four independent programs: Ruhrtriennale, ChorWerk Ruhr, Tanzlandschaft Ruhr, and Urbane Künste Ruhr. With the new program Urbane Künste Ruhr, which began at the end of 2011, Kultur Ruhr GmbH is returning to key experiences from the year of European cultural capital RUHR. 2010. For each branch of Kultur Ruhr GmbH, a three-year term as artistic director is named, marking the autonomy of each of these programs.

Ruhrtriennale has the greatest yields among the four programs within the GmbH and is the most important public presence of Kultur Ruhr GmbH. The artistic director, for the seasons 2012/2013/2014 Heiner Goebbels, is at the same time the business director of the entire GmbH. Each of the other pillars of the GmbH contributes to the Ruhrtriennale in the form of program contributions.

For more information on the program of Kultur Ruhr GmbH, please consult the following pages.

Ruhrtriennale – Heiner Goebbels, Artistic Director

PACT Zollverein – Stefan Hilterhaus, Artistic Director

ChorWerk Ruhr – Florian Helgath, Artistic Director

Urbane Künste Ruhr – Katja Aßmann, Artistic Director


Kultur Ruhr GmbH
Leithestr. 35
45886 Gelsenkirchen
Telephone +49 (0)209.605071 00

Managing Directors
Heiner Goebbels, Lukas Crepaz

Board of Directors
Chair — Ute Schäfer / Vice Chair — Dr. Arnim Brux, Harry K. Voigtsberger / Anne Katrin Bohle, Lothar Gräfingholt, Gerhard Heiligenberg, Karola Geiß-Netthöfel, Reinhard Krämer, Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert, Peter Landmann, Helmut an de Meulen, Bettina Milz, Jörg Obereiner, Klaus Schild, Monika Simshäuser, Johannes Winkel