Kultur Ruhr GmbH

Kultur Ruhr GmbH was created in its current form inspired by the Internationale Bauausstellung Emscher Park (1989–99), and is dedicated to producing and hosting contemporary and interdisciplinary art events across the entire Ruhr metropolitan area.

Kultur Ruhr GmbH currently consists of four independent programmes: Ruhrtriennale, ChorWerk Ruhr, Tanzlandschaft Ruhr, and Urbane Künste Ruhr. With the new programme Urbane Künste Ruhr, which began at the end of 2011, Kultur Ruhr GmbH is returning to key experiences from the year of European cultural capital RUHR. 2010. For each branch of Kultur Ruhr GmbH, a three-year term as artistic director is named, marking the autonomy of each of these programmes.

Ruhrtriennale has the greatest yields among the four programmes within the GmbH and is the most important public presence of Kultur Ruhr GmbH. The artistic director, for the seasons 2018-2020 Stefanie Carp, is at the same time the business director of the entire GmbH. Each of the other pillars of the GmbH contributes to the Ruhrtriennale in the form of programme contributions.

For more information on the programme of Kultur Ruhr GmbH, please consult the following pages.

Ruhrtriennale – Stefanie Carp, Artistic Director www.ruhrtriennale.de

PACT Zollverein – Stefan Hilterhaus, Artistic Director www.pact-zollverein.de

ChorWerk Ruhr – Florian Helgath, Artistic Director www.chorwerkruhr.de

Urbane Künste Ruhr – Britta Peters, Artistic Director www.urbanekuensteruhr.de


Kultur Ruhr GmbH
Gerard-Mortier-Platz 1
44793 Bochum
Fon +49 (0) 234 97483300

Managing Directors
Dr. Stefanie Carp, Dr. Vera Battis-Reese

Board of Directors

Isabel Pfeiffer-Poensgen

Vice Chair
Dr. Hildegard Kaluza, Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert

Dr. Arnim Brux, Dr. Hans-Dieter Fischer, Karola Geiß-Netthöfel, Lothar Gräfingholt, Gerhard Heilgenberg, Dr. Michael Henze, Dr. Christian von Kraack, Peter Landmann, Bettina Milz, Jörg Obereiner, Monika Simshäuser, Petra Zielazny

Partner & public supporter