Skip to main content

Sunn O)))

Sunn O))) was formed in 1998 by Stephen O’Malley and Greg Anderson. The band have become known for their very recognisable “drone metal” sound, and extremely loud live performances. Widely considered pioneering, their music can be described as very slow, with distorted guitars, and an emphasis on texture rather than rhythm. Their name, pronounced "sun", is a reference to the Sunn amplifier brand, and their logo is that of the amplifier’s too.

Over their seven solo studio albums and scores of EPs, live albums and other releases, Sunn O))) have collaborated and recorded with artists across the globe, including Scott Walker, Attila Csihar (Mayhem), Kim Thayil (Soundgarden), Japan’s Boris, Norway’s Ulver, Nurse With Wound, Petra Hayden, Julian Cope (The Teardrop Explodes), John Wiese, Oren Ambarchi, Malefic, Julian Priester, Eyvind Kang, Dylan Carlson, Stuart Dempster, and many more. Their early releases were met with acclaim across various underground music scenes, and steadily their profile has risen, becoming something of a household name in the alternative music, and arts worlds.

The band have played across the world at many prestigious festivals and venues, in the past year at David Byrne’s Meltdown at the Southbank Centre in London, and curating a four day program at Le Guess Who? Festival in Utrecht and they also curated the 2011 edition of Holland’s legendary Roadburn Festival.
The band have an archive collection of their recorded live performances (often fan-made) dating back to 2002 available to listen to online through Bandcamp.